When Travel Ban Goes Into Effect: 10 Things to Know About Maui

The Department of Homeland Security announced a travel ban on people from the Middle East, Africa, and South and Central America on Thursday.

The decision comes after the US Department of State issued a “temporary travel pause” for all citizens from those regions from April 1 through September 30, a measure President Donald Trump has called a “sanctuary city” policy.

The order also includes a ban on all refugees from Syria, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, and Yemen.

The president also banned all entry for 90 days for people from Iran, Yemen, Libya and Syria.

It was not immediately clear how long the ban would last.

The executive order says that it will be in effect “until such time as the president declares a national emergency and certifies that all necessary steps are in place to implement such a declaration.”

The US military has already imposed a travel and travel ban for people and their families from seven countries in the Middle Eastern, African and South-Central American regions, according to a report from NBC News.

That ban has been in effect since the beginning of the year, but it was not announced until late March.